When you get into the writing world, a big question people ask you is, “So, what other books is it similar to?” Basically, no matter how original your book is you have to draw parallels to work already created. Chances are, it’s going to be similar to something because everything in the world has been done; it’s your spin that makes it unique. Thus even if you hated the following list, you may like BOUND because it’s not the exact same.

 22586252

The Jewel, Amy Ewing

This is one of those books that you love it your hate it. The Goodreads scores are like a rollercoaster of 1s and 5s. I really enjoyed this novel. It had moments where I was reading with one eye open because it was cringe worthy as a woman. Bonus point: Love triangle free! (like BOUND!)

“Today is my last day as Violet Lasting. Tomorrow I become Lot 197.” The Jewel is a shocking and compelling new YA series from debut author, Amy Ewing.
Sold for six million diamantes, Violet is now Surrogate of the House of the Lake in the centre of the Lone City, the Jewel. Her sole purpose is to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess – a woman Violet fears and despises. 
Violet is trapped in a living death, her name and body no longer her own. She fights to hold on to her own identity and sanity, uncertain of the fate of her friends, isolated and at the mercy of the Duchess.

10507293

The Selection, Keira Cass

Oh so cheesy, oh so popular! I had to put this on the list. Whilst the story isn’t like BOUND for it’s characters, the unwilling lead is drawn into this new world where she quickly must put her foot in her mark or be lost in a world of beauty.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

13138635

These Broken Stars, Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Personally I didn’t like this book. I wanted to punch Lilac in the face. Tarver was enjoyable and sweet and I think Lilac is way too much a polar opposite, and it takes more than half of the book to realise she is not a total cow, kind of. However, people who read and enjoyed this book will probably enjoy BOUND because Leo is outwardly similar to Lilac, only not a sassy little biatch. That’d be a whole other story!

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone. 
Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.
Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?
Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

7735333

Matched, Allie Condie

This is in the same ballpark as BOUND but is probably way up in the stands looking down. If you’ve read Matched and liked it, you might like my tale. If you read Matched and hated it, you might like my story. Why? Love triangle free-zone! And by now you’re probably getting over them.

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.
The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Advertisements